Blank 1
Blank 2


Clanton & Weaver Take Southern All Star Wins At East Alabama

FAYETTEVILLE, TN--The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series returned to the 36th Alabama State Championships for the second year in a row to sanction the super late model portion at the East Alabama Motor Speedway and under what many described as the worst possible weather forecast all four days of the event took place with Shane Clanton and former Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series champion Randy Weaver taking the  wins in the twin 40 lap $4,000 to win events on Saturday night & Sunday afternoon.

38 cars checked in for the two days of racing and in Saturday nights action Clanton of Zebulon, GA., picked up where he left off from last year as he started from the pole and then put on dominate performance in the 40 lap feature.  Clanton built a huge lead after race leader Ray Cook had contact with a lapped car to slow his night down.  Clanton then only had caution flags slow him down and get the field bunched up back behind him but nobody could challenge him again until late in the race when Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, TN., made a strong run to the second spot but ran out laps at the end.  McCarter brought home second place in his best career Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series finish in second, four time Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Champion Clint Smith of Senoia, GA., came home in the third spot in his first run with the series this year, fourth place went to current series points leader Riley Hickman of Cleveland, TN., and rounding out the top five in another career run with the series was Tom Maddox of Centre, AL.

Rounding out the top ten in Saturday event was Randy Chupp of Troutman, NC., in sixth, seventh went to three time Southern All Star Champion Ronnie Johnson, eight place went to current second place driver in series points Todd Morrow of East Ridge, TN., ninth to Chris Wilson of Crossville, TN., who is third place in points after the Saturday night run and tenth went to Cale Simons of Leesburg, GA., in his second race with the series this season.

The Sunday afternoon 40 lap event was ran after East Alabama officials made the decision to rework the track due to all the laps that had been put on the track before the race racing conditions, but the wait was well worth it as Randy Weaver of Crossville, TN., brought the field to the green, but it was Chris Madden who jumped into the lead, but for the first half of the race the lead swapped several times between Weaver, Madden and Clanton as the trio was doing numerous slide jobs taking over the top spot and brought the crowd tot heir feet several times as the racing was in multiple grooves.  Weaver finally took control of the race just past halfway and looked like he may have it easy for the rest of the event, but slowly and quietly Riley Hickman worked his way around the bottom and through the field from his 17th stating spot and was pressuring Weaver for the lead when a caution came out on lap 34.  This was what Hickman did not need as his tires cooled and this allowed Weave to capture his third win of the season with the series, Hickman came home in the second spot Chris Madden another Southern All Star champion was third with Clanton coming home fourth and Chris Wilson getting his career best finish with the series in 5th.

Another former Southern All Star champion Ivedent Lloyd of Ocala, FL., came in 6th, 7th place was Todd Morrow, eight place went to William Thomas in his return to series action driving for Blount Motorsports, ninth place to Florida super late model hot shoe Mark Whitener of Middleburg, FL., and tenth to Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.,

East Alabama & Southern All Star officials also announced that the series will once again sanction the super late model portion of the 37th Alabama State Championships at the speedway in 2015.

WHITE PERFORMANCE FAST QUALIFIERS: Sat: Chris Madden 15.829; Sun: Shane Clanton 14.993
PPM RACING PRODUCTS B MAIN WINNERS: Randle Chupp, Chris Wilson, Todd Morrow, Mark Whitener Cale Simons

OFFICIAL FINISH NIGHT #1: 1.Shane Clanton; 2.Mack McCarter; 3.Clint Smith; 4.Riley Hickman; 5.Tom Maddox; 6.Randle Chupp; 7.Ronnie Johnson; 8.Todd Morrow; 9.Chris Wilson; 10.Cale Simons; 1..William Thomas; 12.Donald McIntosh; 13.Adam Giles; 14.Ricky Culpepper; 15.Chris Jones; 16.Josh Putnam; 17.Ray Cook; 18.Joey Armistead; 19.Gar Dickson; 20.Josh Adkins; 21.Dylan Ames; 22.Chris Madden; 23.Austin Smith; 24.Ivedent Lloyd

OFFICIAL FINISH NIGHT #2: 1.Randy Weaver; 2.Riley Hickman; 3.Chris Madden; 4.Shane Clanton; 5.Chris Wilson; 6.Ivedent Lloyd; 7.Todd Morrow; 8.William Thomas; 9.Mark Whitener; 10.Ray Cook; 11.Randle Chupp; 12.Gar Dickson; 13.Cecil Eunice; 14.Dylan Ames; 15.Cody King; 16.Kenny Collins; 17.Ronnie Johnson; 18.Ricky Culpepper; 19.Cale Simons; 20.J R Mosley; 21.Josh Adkins; 22.Josh Putnam; 23.Donald McIntosh; 24.Clint Smith

For more information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546,  or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings: 1.Riley Hickman 1078; 2.Todd Morrow 964; 3.Chris Wilson 944; 4.Josh Putnam 886; 5.Dylan Ames 886; 6.Randy Weaver 470; 7.Ray Cook 416; 8.Joe Armistead 404; 9.Jason Hiett 380; 10.William Thomas 378

Cruise With the Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings: 1.Chris Wilson 308; 2.Dylan Ames 292; 3.Mark Gant 91; 4.Cale Finley 69

Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:
March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway
March 29-Joe Armistead-East Alabama Motor Speedway
April 26-Billy Ogle Jr-Smoky Mt Speedway
May 3-Todd Morrow-Talladega Short Track
May 17-Waycross Motor Speedway-Ivedent Lloyd
May 24-Tennessee National Raceway-Todd Morrow
June 14-Volunteer Speedway-Brad Neat
June 21-Talladega Short Track-Todd Morrow
July 26-Talladega Short Track-Randy Weaver
Sept 20-Smoky Mt Speedway-Randy Weaver
Sept 27-East Alabama Motor Speedway-Shane Clanton
Sept 28-East Alabama Motor Speedway-Randy Weaver

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
Oct 18-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$4,000
Nov 21-Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN-$5,000
Nov 22-Boyd's Speedway-Ringgold, GA-$5,000

2014 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2014 Southern All Star Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats,  Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,

-Southern All Star Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee  37334-