Blank 1
Blank 2


Randy Weaver Wins Southern All Star King of The Mountain At Smoky Mt Speedway

MARYVILLE, TN—The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series finally got back into action after a long layoff and it did not disappoint as tow Southern All Star Champions Randy Weaver of Crossville, TN., and Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC., put on a classic battle for the $5,000 first place prize to be the King of the Mountain at Smoky Mt Speedway Saturday night before a near capacity crowd.

Madden led White Performance Group Qualifying with a time 15.825, along with Madden out of Group A Randy Weaver, Skip Arp and Jason Welshan got locked into the 40 lap main, while out of Group B Jeff Wolfenbarger, Casey Roberts, Skylar Marlar and Terry Wolfenbarger were locked in. The PPM Racing Products B Mains were won by Chad Ogle and Tommy Kerr. ( Photo)

The green flag dropped on the 40 lap main with Madden moving into the led while Weaver stayed close to him as Arp and Roberts battle for the third spot. The battle then move to the top two cars as Madden and Weaver utilized the great track conditions to be able to race side by side several time with Weaver making several challenges to over take the top spot but could never have enough to get around Madden.

The caution free event was going to come down to who could work lapped traffic to his advantage and who was going to take the chances and Weaver was the man who took that chance and passed Madden on lap 37 to the roar of the crowd and then went on to get his 26th career with the series in his Longhorn Chassis/AF Stone Medical Services/Hoosier Racing Tires sponsored car. Madden who also drove and excellent race came home in the second place, third place finisher Casey Roberts needed a few more laps and little more traffic and he would have been a player in the finish, fourth place went to Tommy Kerr of Rockford, TN., who moved up from his 10th starting spot and new Blount Motorsport driver Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, GA., came home fifth from his 11th starting spot.

Finishing in the sixth spot was Jason Welshan of Maryville, TN., seventh to Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC., from his 12th, eighth place to Cory Hedgecock of Maryville, TN., from 13th, ninth to Chris Wilson of Crossville, TN., from 15th and tenth went to Jeff Wolfenbarger who fell from his outside pole starting spot after and brush with turn three wall.

Southern All Star points leader Riley Hickman had problems in the Warrior house car and finished in the 19th spot while second place in points Todd Morrow fought distributor problems all night and salvaged a 15th place finish, third place in points Josh Putnam had to borrow a motor from Riley Hickman to get to Smoky Mt and he came home in the 14th spot, fourth place in points Chris Wilson was the highest finisher with a 9th place finish and 5th place in points Dylan Ames came home 16th.

The next Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series events will be on Saturday & Sunday night September 27th & 28th at the Alabama State Championships at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, AL., and a pair of 40 lap feature events paying $4,000 to win each.

For more information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546, or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT or phone at (865)856-8989.

SOUTHERN ALL STAR KING OF THE MOUNTAIN HALL OF FAME RACE OFFICIAL FINISH: 1.Randy Weaver; 2.Chris Madden; 3.Casey Roberts; 4.Tommy Kerr; 5.Donald McIntosh, 6.Jason Welshan; 7.Ray Cook; 8.Cory Hedgecock; 9.Chris Wilson; 10.Jeff Wolfenbarger; 11.Mark Vineyard; 12.Austin Smith; 13.Chad Ogle; 14.Josh Putnam; 15.Todd Morrow; 16.Dylan Ames; 17.Robby Moses; 18.Skylar Marlar; 19.Riley Hickman; 20.Bobby Mays; 21.Skip Arp; 22.Brian Reese; 23.Terry Wolfenbarger; 24.David Crabtree

White Performance Qualifying: Chris Madden 15.825
PPM Racing Products B Main Winners: Chad Ogle-Tommy Kerr

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings: 1.Riley Hickman 890; 2.Todd Morrow 794; 3.Chris Wilson 772; 4.Josh Putnam 762; 5.Dylan Ames 756; 6.Joe Armistead 404; 7.Jason Hiett 380; 8.Bo Shirley 372; 9.Randy Weaver 260; 10.Jason Welshan 316

Cruise With the Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings: 1.Chris Wilson 256; 2.Dylan Ames 244; 3.Mark Gant 91; 4.Cale Finley 69;

Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:
March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway
March 29-Joe Armistead-East Alabama Motor Speedway
April 26-Billy Ogle Jr-Smoky Mt Speedway
May 3-Todd Morrow-Talladega Short Track
May 17-Waycross Motor Speedway-Ivedent Lloyd
May 24-Tennessee National Raceway-Todd Morrow
June 14-Volunteer Speedway-Brad Neat
June 21-Talladega Short Track-Todd Morrow
July 26-Talladega Short Track-Randy Weaver
Sept 20-Smoky Mt Speedway-Randy Weaver

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
Sept 27-East Alabama Motor Speedway-Phenix City, AL-$4,000
Sept 28-East Alabama Motor Speedway-Phenix City, AL-$4,000
Oct 18-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$4,000

2014 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2014 Southern All Star Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats, Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,

-Southern All Star Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee 37334-