Blank 1
Blank 2



Southern All Star Champion Riley Hickman Gets Off to Good Start In 2014 With Boyd’s  Shamrock Win

RINGGOLD, GA—The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series opened the 2014 season with bang Saturday night at the Boyd’s Speedway located in Ringgold, GA., and it did not disappoint as 2013 Champion Riley Hickman of Cleveland, TN., scored the $5,000 win in the Shamrock 50 before a standings room only crowd.

45 cars checked into the 1/3 mile track and Hickman lead White Performance Engines qualifying with Ethan Hunter, Jason Welshan, and Todd Morrow securing the first four spot as they were fast time in each of the four qualifying groups.  The other drivers that were locked in after qualifying were Jamie Perry, Bret Holmes, Jason Hiett and Jeff Smith, Brandon Kinzer, Tony Knowles, David Payne and Joe Armistead.
In PPM Racing Products B Main action 5 spots were up for grabs with Eric Cooley taking the win in B Main one over Chris Wilson, Bo Shirley, Derek Ellis and Josh Putnam all transferred  as Putnam came from dead last to fifth in the 12 lap event.  In the second B Main Skip Arp powered to the win over Rick Hixson, Austin Kirkpatrick, William Thomas and Billy Ogle Jr all transferred into the main event with Michael Asberry and Dylan Ames taking the two Southern All Star provisionals.

The 24 car field now set Hickman took advantage of his fast qualifying time and moved ahead of Hunter, Welshan and Morrow to pull to a lead, then on lap 4 the first of four cautions appeared as Michael Asberry brought out the caution.  On the restart Hickman stretched out over the field for a split second, but could not get a lap complete until Tony Knowles brought out the caution. The longest run of the night occurred as Hickman began to pull away form the field, but the rest of the cars were all battling two and three through the field an the big mover at this point was Jason Hiett from his 7th starting spot as he was running down Hickman and looked to faster than Hickman at one point but a caution on lap 34 for the car of Jeff Smith with an apparent engine problem, this allowed the tires to cool down and then for the remaining 16 laps Hickman held Hiett behind as Hiett tried to get around him on the high side but could never make the pass work and came home in the second spot.  Jason Welshan had a quite night as he started third and finished and was around the front all night, fourth place went to 14th place starter Skip Arp who worked his way up through the field for a great run and fifth went to Todd Morrow.

Rounding out the top ten were 1990 Southern All Star Rookie of the Year Rick Hixson in sixth, outside pole sitter Ethan Hunter seventh, eight to David Payne, ninth Derek Ellis and tenth to Brandon Kinzer.
The Southern All Stars and Boyd’s Speedway will be announcing in the coming days of an agreement to host the annual Gobbler event as well as at least tow more Southern All Star events at the facility.
The Southern All Stars would like to thank Dale McDowell and Dave Duplissy for having the series at the track and all the track officials and employees for the hard work to make this event one of the biggest in the 63rd year of Boyd’s Speedway.

The next event of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series will be another traditional race and it will be at the East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, AL., Saturday night March 29th for the Jimmy Thomas Memorial 40 lap paying $4,000 to win.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546,  or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

1. Riley Hickman-Cleveland, TN
2. Jason Hiett-Oxford, AL
3. Jason Welshan-Maryville, TN
4. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN
5. Todd Morrow-East Ridge, TN
6. Rick Hixson-Soddy Daisy, TN
7. Ethan Hunter-Tiger, GA
8. David Payne-Murphy, NC
9. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, GA
10. Brandon Kinzer-Allen, KY
11. Billy Ogle Jr-Knoxville, TN
12. Bo Shirley-Gadsden, AL
13. Chris Wilson-Crossville, TN
14. Joe Armistead-Senoia, GA
15. Bret Holmes-Munford, AL
16. Eric Cooley-Fulton, MS
17. William Thomas-Phenix City, AL
18. Dylan Ames-Harvest, AL
19. Jamie Perry-Cleveland, TN
20. Jeff Smith-Chatsworth, GA
21. Josh Putnam-Florence, AL
22. Austin Kirkpatrick-Ocala, FL
23. Tony Knowles-Newnan, GA
24. Michael Asberry-Crossville, TN

White Performance Fast Qualifier: Riley Hickman
Schaeffer Oil Product: Riley Hickman
PPM Racing Products B Main Winners: Eric Cooley, Skip Arp
AR Bodies Last Car On Lead Lap: Eric Cooley

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings:1.Riley Hickman 100; 2.Jason Hiett 96; 3.Jason Welshan 94; 4.Skip Arp 92; 5.Todd Morrow 90; 6.Rick Rickman 88; 7.Ethan Hunter 86; 8.David Payne 84; 9.Derek Ellis 82; 10.Brandon Kinzer 80

Cruise With the Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings:

Southern All Star Racing Series 2014 Event Winners:
March 22-Riley Hickman-Boyd’s Speedway

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
Sat Mar 29-East Alabama Motor Speedway-Phenix City, AL-$4,000
Sat Apr 26-Smoky Mt Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000
Sat May 3-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$4,000

2014 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series *Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2014 Southern All Star Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Butlerbuilt Racing Seats,  Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, , MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,

-Southern All Star Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee  37334-