Blank 1
Blank 2


SAS Racing Series 10th Annual Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup at “The Mag” Captured by Chris Wall  

Columbus, MS-July 20, 2013- The Southern All Star Racing Series would makes its only 2013 appearance in the state of Mississippi on Saturday evening at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS and Chris Wall of Springfield, LA would take the lead late in the event and drive to the win and $4,000 payday in the 10th Annual Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup event in the seat of the     

The victory by Wall marked his second career win with the Southern All Star Racing Series, as his previous lone SAS triumph came in 2009, also at “The Mag”.  Wall’s victory also made him the eighth different winner in eleven Southern All Star Racing Series events that have been contested so far in 2013.        

It would be an all Mississippi front-row as Eric Cooley of Fulton, MS and Klint Byars of Calhoun City, MS would bring the bring to the green flag, with Byars jumping to the early lead and holding the top position after a spirited battle with Cooley until Cooley would drive past Byars to grab the top position around the midpoint of the 40 lap contest.  Cooley’s charge out front would be slowed by the only caution flag in the event on lap 26 when Brian Rickman’s machine would slow on the backchute.  The restart would see Cooley now attempting to fend off the charges of Chris Wall Springfield, LA and Wall would eventually race by Cooley for the lead on lap 32 and drive on to the Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup victory.  Cooley would hang on to claim runner-up honors in the event, while series points leader Riley Hickman of Chattanooga, TN would take the final podium position in the top three.  Dane Dacus of Lakeland, TN would earn hard-charger honors for the event when he finished in the fourth position after starting 15th, while Byars would slip to fifth position for the final spot in the top five.

The remainder of the top ten finishers in the Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup would be 11th place starter Bub McCool of Vicksburg, MS, Neil Baggett of Shannon, MS, Jason Hiett of Oxford, AL, 17th place starter Scott Dedwylder of Vossburg, MS, and David Breazeale of Philadelphia, MS.    

The next Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event is on Saturday July 27 and will take place at Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, AL.  The event is the 16th Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial and will pay $4,000 to the winner and $300 to start.   

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546, Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

Southern All Star Racing Series Official Summary of Results

Magnolia Motor Speedway/Columbus, Mississippi
Round 11 of 2013 Season (July 20, 2013)
Southern All Star Racing Series Late Models

10th Annual Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup A-Main Finish:
1.    Chris Wall- Springfield, LA
2.    Eric Cooley- Fulton, MS
3.    Riley Hickman- Chattanooga, TN
4.    Dane Dacus- Lakeland, TN
5.    Klint Byars- Calhoun City, MS
6.    Bub McCool- Vicksburg, MS
7.    Neil Baggett- Shannon, MS
8.    Jason Hiett- Oxford, AL
9.    Scott Dedwylder- Vossburg, MS
10.    David Breazeale- Philadelphia, MS
11.    Rick Rickman- Columbus, MS
12.    Chad Thrash- Meridan, MS
13.    B.J. Robinson- Blanchard, LA
14.    Joseph Joiner- Milton, FL
15.    Shep Lucas- McKenzie, AL
16.    Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth- Northport, AL
17.    Brian Rickman- Columbus, MS
18.    Josh Putnam- Florence, AL
19.    Stacy Caldwell- Columbus, MS
20.    Bret Holmes- Munford, AL
21.    Leon Henderson- Laurel, MS
22.    Mark Rosner- Rockford, TN
23.    Mike Weeks- Friendsville, TN
24.    Jamie Tollison- Koscuisko, MS

Yellow Flags: 1 (Lap 26)  
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: 3 (Byars 1-20, Cooley 21-31, Wall 32-40)
Time of Race: 16 minutes 57 seconds
White Overall Top Qualifier: Eric Cooley 14.448   
Series Provisionals: Mike Weeks, Mark Rosner  
Entries: 38
JT Kerr Racing Equipment Hard Charger of the Race: Dane Dacus (started 15th- finished 4th:    advanced 11 positions)
AR Bodies Last Man on the Lead Lap: Josh Putnam (finished 18th)

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #1 (top 4 transfer):  Josh Putnam, Jamie Tollison, Dane Dacus, Chad Thrash, Rick Rickman, Bret Holmes, Bradley Price, Mark Gant, Phillip Gibson (DNS- David Burkhalter)    

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #2 (top 4 transfer):  Jason Hiett, Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth, Stacy Caldwell, Joseph Joiner, Randy Boyd Thompson, Tim Parker, Mike Weeks, Mark Rosner, Brent White (DNS- Dylan Ames)  

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #3 (top 4 transfer):  Bub McCool, Brian Rickman, Scott Dedwylder, Leon Henderson, Kyle Shaw, Randy Todd, Braden Mitchell, Kurt Radojcsics, Doug Showah, Bo Odom      

Sunoco Consolation Scramble (top 2 transfer):  Rick Rickman, Bret Holmes, Kyle Shaw, Randy Boyd Thompson, Tim Parker, Kurt Radojcsics, Bradley Price, Mark Gant, Braden Mitchell, Brad White, Phillip Gibson, Doug Showah, Mark Rosner, Mike Weeks (DNS- Dylan Ames, Bo Odom, David Burkhalter)

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings (after 7/20/2013)
1. Riley Hickman (Chattanooga, TN)-876
2. Mike Weeks (Friendsville, TN)-836
3. Mark Rosner (Rockford, TN)- 766
4. Bret Holmes (Munford, AL)- 738
   Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)- 738
6. Billy Ogle, Jr. (Knoxville, TN)- 562
7. Steve Casebolt (Richmond, IN)-432
8. Randy Weaver (Crossville, TN)- 406
9. Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC)- 380
10. Michael Asberry (Crossville, TN)- 376

Current Cruise With The Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings (after 7/13/2013)
1. Mark Rosner (Rockford, TN)-274
2. Bret Holmes (Munford, AL)-272
3. Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)-231

Southern All Star Racing Series 2013 Event Winners:
#1-Jared Landers-Batesville, AR (Cherokee Speedway) March 3rd
#2-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Cleveland Speedway) March 9th
#3-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (East AL Motor Speedway) March 16th
#4-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (Smoky Mountain Speedway) March 23rd
#5-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Tazewell Speedway) April 6th
#6-Steve Casebolt (Cleveland Speedway) May 18
#7- Chris Madden (Volunteer Speedway) June 14
#8- Chris Madden (Smoky Mountain Speedway) June 15
#9- Randy Weaver (Talladega Short Track)- June 22
#10- Ray Cook (Cleveland Speedway)- July 13
#11- Chris Wall (Magnolia Motor Speedway)- July 20

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
July 27 Saturday Talladega Short Track/Eastaboga, AL $4,000 to win 40 laps (15th Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial)
August 3 Saturday Volunteer Speedway/Bulls Gap, TN $5,000 to win 50 laps (Herman Collin/Dewey “Red” Ledford Memorial
August 9 Friday Albany Motor Speedway/Albany, GA $4,000 to win 40 laps (Georgia Madness)
August 10 Saturday Needmore Speedway/Norman Park, GA $4,000 to win 40 laps (Georgia Madness)

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
*Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2013 Southern All Star Racing Series Supporters Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, Intercomp Racing Systems, JT Kerr Racing Equipment, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,

-Southern All Star Racing Series -P.O. Box 189-Fayetteville, Tennessee  37334